Historical Saturday: “KICKER (The Forgotten Front): A World War 2 thriller based on actual experiences and official military aviation history in the China, Burma and India theater” by R. GRey Hoover #ASMSG @ASMSG

True WWII stories fictionalized by the son of man who fought for our freedoms – Includes Christoph Fischer’s review and interview with the author, R. Grey Hoover.

Interview excerpt: “Sam and his friends illustrate the regular soldier’s life, not just the super heroes as featured in Hollywood films about the time. They have embarrassing moments during the physical exams, they run out of petrol and have a huge variety of close calls and successes, too. It made them much more realistic and likeable.”

#war #veterans #WWII

writerchristophfischer

KICKER (The Forgotten Front}: A World War 2 thriller based on actual experiences and official military aviation history in the China, Burma and India theater by [Hoover, R Grey]Today I’m delighted to feature a remarkable book by R Grey Hoover, which has been re-released with a fantastic new cover. I came across the book and reviewed it a while back after meeting Grey in a writer’s group. To this day I still remember the book very vividly and am so pleased that Grey, who’s such a dedicated supporter of other authors, finally is pushing his own work a little harder, because it’s absolutely worth the exposure. Here’s my review:
KICKER (The Forgotten Front): A World War 2 thriller based on actual experiences and official military aviation history in the China, Burma and India theater” by R. Grey Hoover is an extraordinary read about air force life in Burma during WWII. 

It focuses on Sam Huber (and his wife Eleanor home in Pennsylvania) from his first days of training through his various stops on the way to…

View original post 1,007 more words

Advertisements
Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment

THE ART OF “BLACK & WHITE”

WOW! Stunning #BW images – still going through them! 🙂

Found this via a @TomPlevnik reblog * Post from photographer @123Photogo – both artists worth following!

123Photogo

THE ART OF BLACK AND WHITE,

VOLUME 4

Here we go again.  The 4th in this series.  And each one gets better.  This one has taken, seriously, a long time to put together.  Contacting all the photographers to make sure I have permission to use their photos, and to make sure I have found 22 of the most incredible Black and White Photos that are out there RIGHT NOW.  Black and White is evolving into such a great art, it truly needs a place to showcase these great artists.  Details, as much as possible of the photo, and the photographer are outlined with each photo that is posted.  Please take your time and enjoy, and please contact each photographer individually to congratulate them on their great artistic talents.

How do we judge these photos for display:

  1. Does the photo look better in black and white than color?  Or as good…

View original post 2,484 more words

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment

Paris is always a good idea

Another round of interesting Paris photos via Tom Plevnik 🙂

#ParisPhotography #streetphotography

Tom Plevnik photography

DSC_5680-01 Pont Neuf

DSC_5701-01 Pont Neuf

DSC_8657-01 L’arrosoir, Rue Oberkampf

DSC_8757-01 Quai d’Orléans

DSC_8760-01 Le Saint-Régis

DSC_8766-01 Rue Saint-Louis en l’Île

DSC_8770-01 Quai d’Orléans

DSC_8775-01 Rue des Barres

View original post

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | 2 Comments

Historical Saturday Review: “The Lyon Affair: A French Resistance Novel” by Ellie Midwood

Excerpt, “It is as much as historical novel with attention to authentic detail as it is a thriller that really keeps you guessing.” – sounds pretty good 🙂

#FrenchResistance #HistoricalFiction #EllieMidwood

writerchristophfischer

The Lyon Affair: A French Resistance novel (The Indigo Rebels Book 2) by [Midwood, Ellie]“The Lyon Affair: A French Resistance Novel” by Ellie Midwood is yet another page-turner with a lot of plot turns and twists. The author is truly gifted in surprising and fooling this old reader.
The story follows a cell of resistance fighters and several other characters in Lyon of 1940. It is as much as historical novel with attention to authentic detail as it is a thriller that really keeps you guessing.
The characters are fleshed out and populate a rich plot, making for an engaging and gripping read. I personally can’t get enough of WW2 fiction and this is one not to be missed.

Blurb:

For fans of “The Nightingale” and “All The Light We Cannot See”

“The Lyon Affair” – book two in ‘The Indigo Rebels’ series

A late diplomat’s son with a brilliant mind;
A Catholic priest with a dark past;
A young woman scorned by her…

View original post 185 more words

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | 2 Comments

DARE TO BE DIFFERENT

Simple, to the point, plus nice pics 🙂 via writer Susanne Leist

SUSANNE LEIST

DARE TO BE DIFFERENT

Embrace your passions. 

Don’t be afraid.

No one has the right 

to criticize you.

Be unique. 

Be different. 

Be proud.

View original post

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | 2 Comments

What I’ve Learned from 21 Days of My Creative Sabbatical

Via a perpetually creative lady Sheila & I met one SXSW – excerpt “Curiosity doesn’t always feel safe anymore, even when I crave it.” – and then she tells how she overcame that feeling… Really nice!

#creativity #InnerPeace #hiking

Carrie Melissa Jones Community Consulting

Editor’s Note: I originally published this piece on Medium. Follow me there for more updates on my journey.

Waterfall in the lower Cascades, November 2017 Waterfall in the lower Cascades, November 2017

A few days ago, I drove 45 minutes from my house through the wide and winding road of Interstate 90 in Western Washington. The road takes you along the bottom of the Cascade Mountain Range and transports you from the steel gray of the city of Seattle into the green gray of the mountains in less than an hour.

On this particular morning, I had a familiar anxious energy running through my body. This low level of anxiety had become my “normal”, my heart always beating a little faster than it should, my brain used to juggling my own as well as everyone else’s needs. It’s why, in essence, I’ve taken a creative sabbatical, as my friend Jonna proclaimed a few weeks ago. I…

View original post 1,335 more words

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment

MEET JILL DOBY

Fascinating 1st hand perspective! – “Traveling – it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller.” I think our youngest girl would definitely agree with that! 🙂

#traveling #memoirs #educator

lucinda E Clarke

Jill and I have been FB friends for a long time, I remember beta reading her first book, or was it her second? Anyway, I’ve read both and I highly recommend them. She is so right that travel broadens the mind and introduces you to different cultures and peoples. Jill is a true traveler in every sense of the word and has some great stories to tell.

birthday 59

I am an international educator and a writer. I write travel memoirs and articles about my experiences living in different countries while working as a teacher/administrator in American and international schools around the world. Documenting my travel experiences has given me opportunities to relive all the good, bad, harrowing, and remarkable events I endured along the way. Writing about traveling also comes naturally to me as I continue to encounter diverse cultures, distant lands, and historic sites in this unique lifestyle of mine.

I’ve…

View original post 634 more words

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment

It Takes Work…Greta’s Blog

“Mindfulness” 16″x20″ Acrylic on Canvas ©Greta Olivas

“Mindfulness” 16″x20″ Acrylic on Canvas ©Greta Olivas

 

Reblog via Greta’s Blog http://blog.gretaolivas.com/2017/11/10/it-takes-work/

Excerpt – “There are several places you can find guided meditations with music that will give you mantras to repeat (like on YouTube). I personally started meditating with…”

#meditation #mindfulness #art

 

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment

TO DREAM

excerpt – “Shadows roaming in blackness / A striking and deadly pair“

Poetry from suspense writer Susanne Leist. Short, interesting, thoughtful –

#poetry #suspense #night #TheUnknown

SUSANNE LEIST

When night comes softly
On feet as light as air,
I can see clearly
Of what I shouldn’t care.

Alone on this hilltop
With the embracing cold,
Boundaries cannot stop
Me from being so bold.

I want to look at the night,
Gaze out into the unknown,
Dare to dream of my flight,
And dream of where I have flown.

Secrets hidden in darkness,
Beneath a cloak of despair.
Shadows roaming in blackness,
A striking and deadly pair.

At night I can roam free
And sail forth on gossamer wings.
Be all that I can be
No matter what the dark night brings.

View original post

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | 2 Comments

Recently Sold by Felipe Adan Lerma at Fine Art America Plus New Work

Below is the text of my short Fine Art America (FAA) newsletter I sent out recently, so this is a reblogged of sorts 🙂

If you would like to subscribe to my newsletter at FAA (sent out once or twice a month at most), please sign up at – https://fineartamerica.com/subscribememberemaillist.html?memberidtype=artistid&memberid=459979 .

Each of my images at FAA has expanded commentary, a full resolution viewer, a smaller watermark (removed on purchase or licensing), plus related links –

New work featured in the newsletter isn’t shown here but is easiest seen in the chronological sequencing at – https://fineartamerica.com/profiles/felipeadan-lerma.html?tab=artwork .

Thanks so much, sincerely – Adan

***

Self Portrait 4 - Circa mid-80s

Self Portrait 4 – Circa mid-80s

Hello, everyone!

Sheila and I are back in Texas after a wonderful trip in Vermont!

My last image shot in VT the evening of my birthday was at Perkins Pier and that image sold this past week (smiles) .

Perkins Pier Sunset * @Felipe Adan Lerma

Perkins Pier Sunset * @Felipe Adan Lerma

Please click image for FAA page


Shortly after my print of my original oil set in Central Park during a record March cold snap also sold!

Central Park Record Early March Cold Circa 2007 WP @Felipe Adan Lerma

Central Park Record Early March Cold Circa 2007 WP @Felipe Adan Lerma

Please click image for FAA page

I hope you’ll click on the image and leave a comment, plus visit some of my other new work at Fine Art America.

The header is a pic Sheila took of me by one of my early acrylic originals back in the 80s – fun looking back! 🙂

Hope everyone’s well, and definitely wishing us all the best –

Sincerely,

Adan

***

Images at Fine Art America – https://fineartamerica.com/profiles/felipeadan-lerma.html

Books at Amazon Kindle – http://author.to/Adans_Amazon_Author_Page

 

Posted in art, Arts, Creativity, Felipe Adan Lerma, Fine Art America, paintings, photography, Sunrises & Sunsets, Vermont, vermont photos | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment