Review: “Highest of Highs to Lowest of Lows: My Battles With Bipolar Disorder” by Michael Kinyanjui

Interesting review of one man’s articulate bio of living with and coming to understand bipolar disorder, formerly called manic depression –

By Michael Kinyanjul via Christoph Fischer

writerchristophfischer

Highest of Highs to Lowest of Lows: My Battles With Bipolar Disorder by [Kinyanjui, Michael ]This is a really impressive memoir, in part of what the reader can learn about bi-polarism and how it affects a person; in other parts it shows a writer insightful enough into the psyche of non-affected people to explain his feelings in a manner that grant us eye-opening and aha moments.
I have friends who suffer with the condition who didn’t have the gift to explain things as well as the author. Not following an entirely linear approach we get thrown in at the deep end and unwrap childhood and other ages later. Taking an extreme moment in the author’s young life, being arrested and imprisoned, as the starting point gives us an immediate sense of the volatility of the condition and brings in more than a mere sympathy perspective. How to make the police offers understand, the judge understand, anyone understand the difference between criminal activity and mental health…

View original post 310 more words

Advertisements
Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment

Making room for the new, and the good

Wonderful post with some lofty goals worth thinking about.

Excerpt, “When you’re motivated by desire to help those who are victims of ignorance, only then are you free from your suffering and feelings of violation”

via Phyllis Ring
Twitter @phyllisring

#healing #compassion

Leaf of the Tree

GLEANINGS FOUND HERE AND THERE:

“Taz,” courtesy of Jon Ring.

When you suffer because of discrimination, there’s always an urge to speak out. But even if you spend a thousand years speaking out, your suffering won’t be relieved.

Only through deep understanding and liberation from ignorance can you be liberated from your suffering.

When you break through to the truth, compassion springs up like a stream of water. With that compassion, you can embrace even the people who have persecuted you.

When you’re motivated by desire to help those who are victims of ignorance, only then are you free from your suffering and feelings of violation. 

Don’t wait for things to change around you. You have to practice liberating yourself. Then you will be equipped with the power of compassion and understanding, the only kind of power that can help transform an environment full of injustice and discrimination.

You…

View original post 275 more words

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment

Why Didn’t Your Bot Invite Me to A Secret Club?

Kinda scary and kinda promising and very interesting, all on Christmas Eve 🙂

excerpt, “If the Internet is all about discovery (which I believe it is), I believed for a moment that this brand was going to help me discover ‘my people’. This, I know, is the most powerful thing a brand can do.”

via Carrie Melissa Jones

Carrie Melissa Jones, Community Consultant

I was asked last week if I wanted to join a brand’s secret club.

Was it the illuminati? Was it a secret community of advanced community builders? Was it an invitation to join the robot takeover of the world?

Sadly, it was none of those things.

Also, sadly, it was not actually a club at all. Though that is what the brand called it.

Exhibit A: The Invitation

I had been searching the web for some help on Instagram for my side business, and I found an agency that piqued my interest. So I poked around their site a bit and left. The next day, I decided to revisit the site to check back on a resource I remembered reading. At that point, this pop-up interrupted my experience:

JumperMedia1A secret club?That sounds pretty damn cool.

The community builder in me was curious how an agency was building community, and…

View original post 786 more words

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment

I JUST CAN’T GET IT LARGER!

This gallery contains 7 photos.

Originally posted on lucinda E Clarke:
How about a Christmas present for me? It won’t cost you more than a moment and very little effort. I’m asking all you FABULOUS people out there for a re-blog of this post (flatter…

Gallery | 2 Comments

Historical Saturday: “KICKER (The Forgotten Front): A World War 2 thriller based on actual experiences and official military aviation history in the China, Burma and India theater” by R. GRey Hoover #ASMSG @ASMSG

True WWII stories fictionalized by the son of man who fought for our freedoms – Includes Christoph Fischer’s review and interview with the author, R. Grey Hoover.

Interview excerpt: “Sam and his friends illustrate the regular soldier’s life, not just the super heroes as featured in Hollywood films about the time. They have embarrassing moments during the physical exams, they run out of petrol and have a huge variety of close calls and successes, too. It made them much more realistic and likeable.”

#war #veterans #WWII

writerchristophfischer

KICKER (The Forgotten Front}: A World War 2 thriller based on actual experiences and official military aviation history in the China, Burma and India theater by [Hoover, R Grey]Today I’m delighted to feature a remarkable book by R Grey Hoover, which has been re-released with a fantastic new cover. I came across the book and reviewed it a while back after meeting Grey in a writer’s group. To this day I still remember the book very vividly and am so pleased that Grey, who’s such a dedicated supporter of other authors, finally is pushing his own work a little harder, because it’s absolutely worth the exposure. Here’s my review:
KICKER (The Forgotten Front): A World War 2 thriller based on actual experiences and official military aviation history in the China, Burma and India theater” by R. Grey Hoover is an extraordinary read about air force life in Burma during WWII. 

It focuses on Sam Huber (and his wife Eleanor home in Pennsylvania) from his first days of training through his various stops on the way to…

View original post 1,007 more words

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment

THE ART OF “BLACK & WHITE”

WOW! Stunning #BW images – still going through them! 🙂

Found this via a @TomPlevnik reblog * Post from photographer @123Photogo – both artists worth following!

123Photogo

THE ART OF BLACK AND WHITE,

VOLUME 4

Here we go again.  The 4th in this series.  And each one gets better.  This one has taken, seriously, a long time to put together.  Contacting all the photographers to make sure I have permission to use their photos, and to make sure I have found 22 of the most incredible Black and White Photos that are out there RIGHT NOW.  Black and White is evolving into such a great art, it truly needs a place to showcase these great artists.  Details, as much as possible of the photo, and the photographer are outlined with each photo that is posted.  Please take your time and enjoy, and please contact each photographer individually to congratulate them on their great artistic talents.

How do we judge these photos for display:

  1. Does the photo look better in black and white than color?  Or as good…

View original post 2,484 more words

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment

Paris is always a good idea

Another round of interesting Paris photos via Tom Plevnik 🙂

#ParisPhotography #streetphotography

Tom Plevnik photography

DSC_5680-01 Pont Neuf

DSC_5701-01 Pont Neuf

DSC_8657-01 L’arrosoir, Rue Oberkampf

DSC_8757-01 Quai d’Orléans

DSC_8760-01 Le Saint-Régis

DSC_8766-01 Rue Saint-Louis en l’Île

DSC_8770-01 Quai d’Orléans

DSC_8775-01 Rue des Barres

View original post

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | 2 Comments

Historical Saturday Review: “The Lyon Affair: A French Resistance Novel” by Ellie Midwood

Excerpt, “It is as much as historical novel with attention to authentic detail as it is a thriller that really keeps you guessing.” – sounds pretty good 🙂

#FrenchResistance #HistoricalFiction #EllieMidwood

writerchristophfischer

The Lyon Affair: A French Resistance novel (The Indigo Rebels Book 2) by [Midwood, Ellie]“The Lyon Affair: A French Resistance Novel” by Ellie Midwood is yet another page-turner with a lot of plot turns and twists. The author is truly gifted in surprising and fooling this old reader.
The story follows a cell of resistance fighters and several other characters in Lyon of 1940. It is as much as historical novel with attention to authentic detail as it is a thriller that really keeps you guessing.
The characters are fleshed out and populate a rich plot, making for an engaging and gripping read. I personally can’t get enough of WW2 fiction and this is one not to be missed.

Blurb:

For fans of “The Nightingale” and “All The Light We Cannot See”

“The Lyon Affair” – book two in ‘The Indigo Rebels’ series

A late diplomat’s son with a brilliant mind;
A Catholic priest with a dark past;
A young woman scorned by her…

View original post 185 more words

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | 2 Comments

DARE TO BE DIFFERENT

Simple, to the point, plus nice pics 🙂 via writer Susanne Leist

SUSANNE LEIST

DARE TO BE DIFFERENT

Embrace your passions. 

Don’t be afraid.

No one has the right 

to criticize you.

Be unique. 

Be different. 

Be proud.

View original post

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | 2 Comments

What I’ve Learned from 21 Days of My Creative Sabbatical

Via a perpetually creative lady Sheila & I met one SXSW – excerpt “Curiosity doesn’t always feel safe anymore, even when I crave it.” – and then she tells how she overcame that feeling… Really nice!

#creativity #InnerPeace #hiking

Carrie Melissa Jones, Community Consultant

Editor’s Note: I originally published this piece on Medium. Follow me there for more updates on my journey.

Waterfall in the lower Cascades, November 2017 Waterfall in the lower Cascades, November 2017

A few days ago, I drove 45 minutes from my house through the wide and winding road of Interstate 90 in Western Washington. The road takes you along the bottom of the Cascade Mountain Range and transports you from the steel gray of the city of Seattle into the green gray of the mountains in less than an hour.

On this particular morning, I had a familiar anxious energy running through my body. This low level of anxiety had become my “normal”, my heart always beating a little faster than it should, my brain used to juggling my own as well as everyone else’s needs. It’s why, in essence, I’ve taken a creative sabbatical, as my friend Jonna proclaimed a few weeks ago. I…

View original post 1,335 more words

Posted in Felipe Adan Lerma | Leave a comment